Thread: Plunking...

V.I.P.

Plunking...

I probably know what plunking is in the back of my head, but what does the word in fishing mean? I think I got it but not sure... I am gonna go to bonneville or the clack for salmon and steelhead with spin n glows with some prawns on the end. I need some tips about it since it is my first time with anything like this. There's one thing Im not clear on-do you retrieve or just let it stay, so the weight will hold the leader there, then the current makes the spin n glow spin?

I finally got my dream combo, an
    AIR IM7 and a AMBASSADUER 6500!!! Awesome. I practiced casting in my backyard, and I got it down within minutes, now my backyard aint long enough! I got it stuck in a tall tree from one side! Baitcasters can cast really far was the surprise for me. The bad thing is is the rats nests... You dont stop the line when the lure hits the water or ground, foom! and the reel is covered in line... Awesome reel and rod though, huge sale at fisherman's marine and outdoor got me the reel, same at joes for the rod.
    Last edited by FishSchooler; 07-19-2008 at 05:35 PM.

V.I.P.
    You have drag settings on the reel to prevent backlash, or bird nesting line. In the users guide it should go through it. Different amounts of weight require different settings, the book should give some decent instructions i would think...I dunno if i would commit to plunking for a day. I have never been able to present bait/lures whatever, correctly apparantly. But throwin spinners, and drifting bait, are the two best methods to fish from the bank in my opinion...And even i can catch fish regularly driftin eggs, or shrimp now. I'm sure my inexperience at plunking plays a major role in me not hooking up, but I'd like to know if anyone here is real sucessful plunkin from the bank. Maybe we just need tips or something.:think:
    Get Bent...Yo Rod That Is.

And if you aren't gettin bent, join in on this...
    1st Annual Fish OFF

V.I.P.