Ocean/lower bay rod selection for downrigger

B
Billamicasr
I'm new to salmon trolling in the ocean and lower bay.
I'm pretty much set using a lead ball dropper, but have never used a down-rigger. I'm guessing the down-rigger rod will have a much lighter tip than my river/drift fishing salmon rod.
I'll be using plug cut Herring and Big Al's flasher or possible lure combinations, nothing too heavy. I have an Abu Gargia 6500c which I'll likely use with 50# braid.

What would be the rods of choice in the $100 to $300.00 range? Most I see are probably 8-9' with a flexible tip section, but I've not yet begun to shop.

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
our tidewater salmon catching is done using cannonball drop sinker in the 4oz to 6oz range, depth in the 20' to 30', and we have found that MH (8-12# line) rods that are 7' long work great but our 16' PB is low to the water, as are my kayaks, so I could see going a bit longer for a boat with more freeboard and if you will be using more weight, perhaps a rod with say 10-20# line recommendation.

I don't think it is necessary to have special rods for down-rigger use, all of the good graphite blanks (IM-7 and better...) have strong backbones but lively flexible tips...cheers, roger

Reactions: bd2cool
B
Billamicasr
I was at the jaws a gfew days ago on the Umpqua and watch several boats using flashers behind divers (Pink Lady) or using their down-rigger. Charting the area I see it is right at 30' deep for a very long distance. They were making the rounds from about 1/4 mile inside the bay to 1/4 mile outside the gate, trolling at a pretty slow speed. Seeing those boats later as they came in I saw the diver, 8" flashers with a 6' leader then another 6' leader to the bait hooks. It appears most of the rods were in the 9' range but I didn't take the time to chat up with any of the returning boats except to ask if they did good.